Sightseeing in the Cluster

Capsuleer Cemetery

Molea1

Dozens of graves surround a station in Molea

Editor’s note: This is a post about the original capsuleer cemetery. If you are looking for the Fallen Capsuleer Memorial next door, please see here.

Death is a constant threat for a pod pilot, and it has been on my mind even more in recent days thanks to the recent increased and worrying activity of the Sanshas. Thankfully, advances in technology also mean that, at least for us, death is only an inconvenience. A few million isk to set up a new clone contract, and more to buy new implants, and it’s as if our bodies had never died in the first place. Because dying is only a mere inconvenience for us, most pod pilots often shrug off a corpse like we would a used pair of boots, never giving it a second thought. When our very essence can simply be downloaded into a new body, why bother worrying about what’s happened to the previous one?

Molea2

A grave for a pod pilot known only as Sorly

Not everyone gives so little thought to clones that pilots don’t need anymore, however. Around Moon 1 of Molea II, a small POS sits. Surrounding that POS is a veritable cemetery of pilots who have moved on to a new mortal coil. Painstakingly maintained by Azia Burgi, the cemetery acts as a final resting place for dozens of pilots. Each body sits in an individual plot, and marked with a name and a simple “RIP”. There the bodies sit, for anyone who wants to pay their respects for the departed.

Molea3

The POS and its armaments guard the cemetery from would-be attackers

Surprisingly (or not, depending on how optimistic you are on humanity in New Eden), in the middle of the cemetery sits a surprisingly well armed station. ECM and gun batteries stand at the ready to protect the graves. Sadly, such protection is needed after some groups decided to desecrate the graveyard soon after the cemetery became public knowledge. However, that has not stopped Azia from continuing to provide these burial services. Why someone would want to attack a cemetery is not exactly clear. The attackers claimed that the cemetery defiled the bodies and put them on display to be gawked at, but that seemed like thin reasoning indeed.

Molea4

A grave sits near the POS shields

I took the Professor out to the site. Even as I came out of warp, I was struck by the sheer number of graves. The graves sat in a small cloud centered on the POS and its shield. I was the only one present at the cemetery at the time, even the caretaker was nowhere to be seen when I arrived to pay my respects. I felt it was better this way, to let me be alone with my thoughts as I slowly made my way through the cemetery. I didn’t recognize any of the names that I saw on the graves, but that made the experience no less poignant for me.

Molea5

The Professor slowly glides towards a grave

I couldn’t help but reflect on these graves as I made my way through the cemetery. What if I found one of my prior bodies here? I’m not entirely sure how I would feel about that. It would be an uncomfortable reminder that I have lost part of myself. We’ve all read the claims: as long as your clone is sufficiently advanced, any losses to a person’s essence- their memories and abilities- are negligible at best. But how could I be so sure? The scary thing was that I couldn’t be. It was a deep philosophical and metaphysical question, and one that I wasn’t quite sure I wanted to know the answer to. I spent a while at the cemetery, paying my respects to the fallen. As I left, I couldn’t help but notice the nearby moon. A somewhat inappropriate laugh came from me, as I was reminded of an old saying from when I was growing up: “Shoot for the moon, for even if you miss you’ll land amongst the stars.” How true that statement was. Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Capsuleer Cemetery
  • System: Molea II, Moon 1
  • Security Rating: 0.7
  • Region: Khanid
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -3.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.

25 responses

  1. / loved it!

    May 16, 2010 at 3:13 pm

  2. What an odd place. I haven’t given much thought to the 27 bodies I’ve left behind… until now. Yikes.

    May 17, 2010 at 9:58 am

  3. extecy

    i stay there today and there is no POS at this moment
    4 all how have doubt does the pos attack pilots ^^

    August 25, 2010 at 3:35 pm

  4. Gulfxray

    I was just there and there is a POS, but that is about it…

    November 10, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    • mark726

      Hmm, I’ll look into that soon and amend things if necessary. Thanks for the heads up!

      November 10, 2010 at 12:38 pm

  5. webspaceships mark726
    Rumor has it the Capsuleer Cemetery in Molea is active again. Will attempt to verify next time I get the chance #eveonline #tweetfleet
    2 hours ago

    via:
    https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Tweetfleet

    December 2, 2011 at 2:33 am

  6. Tebnla Amarr

    The Cemetary is still very much Alive and well

    November 24, 2012 at 6:10 am

  7. Passing through this system now and have stopped to pay my respects as well. May we always take time to honor the fallen.

    April 11, 2014 at 6:45 am

  8. Pingback: New Eden Cemetery and Khanid Favorites | To Boldly Go

  9. Pingback: Going sightseeing | BadWrongFun

  10. Pingback: Cemetery Visit | Into the Ether

  11. Gilan Isana

    Still very active and inspiring as we remember the fallen of WWI

    In Eve as it is on Earth – Lest We Forget.

    December 15, 2014 at 5:31 pm

  12. Hi I’m from EveBLog.space. Has it gone? Can’t find it? 😦

    November 9, 2017 at 2:39 am

    • Hi Paul. The POS was still there when I️ checked early last month, but I’ll swing by in the next day or two to doublecheck for you

      November 9, 2017 at 8:19 am

      • Thanks Mark – I have got the right place? I could only find a system called Molea?

        November 9, 2017 at 8:22 am

      • It’s at a POS in Molea at Planet 2 moon 1 IIRC (the bottom of the post should have the location under “basic info”, I’m on my phone currently :-p )

        November 9, 2017 at 8:43 am

    • For what it’s worth, I’m at the site now. The cemetery is still active, with graves, as a POS at the warp-in at Planet 2, Moon 1, in Molea. Not sure what, if any, plan there is for when POSes get phased out.

      November 9, 2017 at 8:06 pm

  13. Pingback: Now Just So Many Bubbles in Space | The Ancient Gaming Noob

  14. Pingback: Journey of Katia Sae Memorial | EVE Travel

  15. Pingback: EVE News24: The Galaxy's Most Resilient EVE Online News Site.

  16. Pingback: 17 Must-See Locations in EVE Online – GamingNow

  17. Pingback: EVE Onlineの必見スポット17選 | EVEJapan News

  18. Pingback: A New Monument in Molea | The Ancient Gaming Noob

  19. Pingback: Fallen Capsuleers Memorial | EVE Travel

Leave a comment