Sightseeing in the Cluster

Hollow Asteroid

Djimame1

A large asteroid sits near the Antem gate in Djimame

My travels once again took me into the oldest region in New Eden: the rather aptly-named Genesis region. Ruins of stations and other structures left over from a time long since past could be found throughout the region. The ruins could often be found near the gates in that region, which makes given the long term stability of the gravitational resonances around the stars that are necessary for interstellar travel. However, even with the graceful and ancient Amarrian structures floating about, my eyes were instead drawn to a site of natural beauty.

Djimame2

The Professor approaches the strangely shaped asteroid

Near the Antem gate in Djimame stands a large asteroid. By no means the largest asteroid out there, it’s not even large enough to be spherical, but it’s a sizeable asteroid nonetheless. What makes the asteroid notable, however, is not its location but rather what it was missing. As I sat behind the asteroid relative to Djimame itself, I could easily see the star through the asteroid. A large hole bored almost straight through the thing to the other side. The hole was sizeable enough that I could have maneuvered the Professor through it if I had tried. Not that I wanted to try, of course. The fragile “bunny ears” of my ship wouldn’t take well to grazing the asteroid’s interior.

Djimame3

A sliver of Djimame can be seen through the hole in the asteroid.

The asteroid was by no means the grandest sight that I’ve seen in my travels. It wasn’t a sight that made me question my place and significance in the universe. It didn’t make me stare in awe at the fury of nature or man. It didn’t even make me feel particularly strong about, well, anything. But I guess not everything in New Eden had to inspire strong emotions. After all, sometimes, a rock with a hole in it is just a rock with a hole in it.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Hollow Asteroid
  • System: Djimame
  • Security Rating: 0.3
  • Region: Genesis
  • Potential Hazards: Getting to Djimame involves low sec travel.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.
2 responses

  1. I’ve come across one or two of these in my own travels. I find that pirates think it’s a decent hiding spot for an encrypted database. Takes some tricky piloting to get in…

    Travels

    May 11, 2010 at 8:04 am

    • mark726

      Yeah, I’ve seen similar rocks pop up in a few exploration/mission sites, but I thought it was kind of cool to see one standing on its own and not in a deadspace complex, hence the entry, heh.

      May 11, 2010 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

