Sightseeing in the Cluster

Saidusairos-Kurniainen Gate

Saidusairos1

The gate floats amid the rust-red nebula

Editor’s Note: Sometime prior to September 1, 2015, the red clouds near the gate have been removed from the game.

Dust. It gets everywhere. I am by no means a neat freak (though I certainly have friends that are), but I always at least tried to keep things presentably free of dust, even when I was by myself in Professor Science. But regardless of how hard I tried to scrub it away, within a few days there is always more. I guess dust is just one of those constants of the universe. Wherever I go, and whatever I see, there will always be some sort of dust there waiting for me. Ultimately, dust is the building blocks of stars and planets, and everything that comes from them. So I guess I shouldn’t complain too much about it. Still, even dust somehow manages to take me by surprise sometimes.

Saidusairos2

The clouds completely surrounded the gate out to Kurniainen

I was setting my sights on home and getting ready to finally finish my unplanned stop in Saidusairos, but the Powers That Be had one more surprise for me. As I came out of warp at the gate to Kurniainen, I was surprised to see not the normal inky blackness of space, but rather surrounded by a dull, rusty red. After a moment’s consideration, I realized that these appeared to be clouds of the same material that presumably gave the Crimson Cathedral its name. Strangely, the small nebula appeared to be centered on the gate itself, as if it were somehow providing an anchor for the clouds. It was odd to have the gate either deliberately placed in the middle of the nebula, or perhaps the nebula formed after the gate was placed. Perhaps it had something to do with the gravitational resonances that dictated gate placement within a system.

Saidusairos3

The Professor maneuvers through the rust red dust, earning a fine sheen over her recently washed hull.

Regardless of what caused the small nebula to form around the gate, I had to move on. Among other things, my poor (and previously clean) Buzzard needed a good washing from maneuvering through this buildup of dust. Still, it was a refreshing change from the ordinary dullness surrounding a gate. Part of me found it a little ironic that dust, that ever-present bane of neat freaks everywhere, actually made things interesting for a change. I quickly shoved that thought aside and sent an activation request to the gate.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Saidusairos-Kuriainen Gate
  • System: Saidusairos
  • Security Rating: 0.1
  • Region: The Bleak Lands
  • Potential Hazards: Getting to Saidusairos involves low sec travel.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.
One response

  1. Latrodanes

    Another awesome series of pix. Thanks for the good work and keeping us all informed of the wonders out there in New Eden. Not to mention, giving me new Windows desktop images!! 🙂

    May 7, 2010 at 11:48 am

Leave a Reply

