Sightseeing in the Cluster

Violent Wormhole

Promised Land 1

An apparently stable wormhole.

Missiles and ammo flung themselves across the vastness of space at incomprehensible speeds. Lasers singed shields, armor buckled and collapsed, and ships exploded as their reactors went critical. My own drake, hardened as it was for battle, heaved violently as it took what evasive maneuvers it could to avoid the Sansha onslaught. An artificially generated wormhole had been discovered in Yulai mere moments ago, and the battle was just getting underway. About 100 kilometers out, a cloud of Sansha battleships, dark enough to block out the sun despite how close we were to it, began ever so slowly moving towards the fleet set up to defend the heart of civilized space. Suddenly, alarms blared at me as over 50 Sanshas locked on to me. Apparently, I was one of their first picks of the day. Ammunition bore down on me as the drake struggled valiantly to keep my shields up. Within moments, though my shields collapsed, and soon the armor did as well. My hull collapsing around me, I instructed the crew that remained alive to abandon ship and suddenly-

Promised Land 2

Professor Science can be seen through the spatial distortion of the wormhole

I shot upright in my bed, drenched in sweat. This hadn’t been the first time that I’d had nightmares in the aftermath of the battle of Yulai, but it was the first time that I had woken up in the middle of one of my dreams. After a few moments of confused disorientation, I realized that Aura’s incessant beeping was alerting me to a priority message. I quickly opened it up, and as I read it, my eyes widened in surprise. I quickly contacted my hanger to prep Professor Science for immediate departure. If what I was seeing was true… This I had to see with my own eyes.

Promised Land 3

I unsuccessfully attempt to take my Buzzard through the wormhole.

Within half an hour from waking up, I entered into the system of Promised Land. I have been in this system a number of times, as it was only one jump out from New Eden and the EVE Gate, but never before had I known of anything noteworthy in this system. The massive collapsed remnant of the fabled link to our home planet had always been this area’s primary attraction. Indeed, the Sisters of Eve spent countless hours attempting to study and even reopen the supposedly stable wormhole that had collapsed so long ago. This time around, though, my eyes were set in Promised Land. I vectored Professor Science towards Planet I, and the ship launched into warp. As I came out of warp near the planet, there it was as clear as day. Exactly as the message had described it. Sitting just a few kilometers from the warp in point sat a wormhole.

Promised Land 4

A storm rages below on Promised Land I while the wormhole sits... and doesn't collapse

But this wasn’t just any run of the mill wormhole that you could easily find in most systems throughout the cluster these days. This, at least from initial appearances, appeared to be another stable wormhole. Just like the infamous one just a system over. But this one also had the distinction of being of artificial construction (the current wormholes popping up throughout the cluster may or may not be naturally occurring, the academics have yet to come to a conclusion on that to my knowledge). And constructed by the Sansha no less. Prior to the current incursions of entire constellations, the Sansha had shown the ability to create artificial wormholes to invade particular systems. They had used their wormhole technology to directly invade Yulai, where a large capsuleer force had appeared to defend it. Directly after the Yulai event, however, Sansha forces regrouped in Promised Land and engaged in a much more limited battle with defense forces. The wormhole used to enter Promised Land was the one sitting in front of me today. More than a month later, it was still sitting here. Perhaps most surprisingly, no one seemed to have known or cared about this. Despite the obvious significance of this, there were no survey or science ships here to study this wormhole compared to the one in New Eden.

Promised Land 5

A second sun can be made out within the wormhole itself. What sun that is, however, remains a mystery.

I tried to take Professor Science through the wormhole to no avail. Like the other wormholes used by the Sansha, they had somehow keyed it to only allow only Sansha ships through. All I could do with the wormhole was see a very distorted image of the other side. I circled around the wormhole to see if there was anything I could see through it, but it remained as mysterious as ever. I could make out a star of some kind on the other side, but all attempts to identify it failed. I couldn’t even tell if it was just a strange reflection/refraction of Promised Land itself. It remained as mysterious as ever. All attempts to cross the event horizon boundary merely resulted in me getting bounced back by some kind of force.

After about 15 minutes I gave up. Professor Science simply could not get me the information I needed. I would have to do the only thing I knew how: advertise this bizarre wormhole to others, and hope that someone else could crack its secrets.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Violent Wormhole
  • System: Promised Land, Planet I
  • Security Rating: 0.3
  • Region: Genesis
  • Potential Hazards:  Low sec travel is needed to get to the landmark.  Caution is advised.

8 responses

  1. Very interesting. Maybe someone(s) can go out and do a battery of tests on it? I guess I would expect it to turn out like the immutable Geztic Shuttle, but since Sansha wormholes have been able to be affected in the past maybe there’s some hope. Maybe an Echelon and Sansha Codebreaker? Or someone in a Zephyr?

    Good report (as always) Mark.

    March 6, 2011 at 6:23 pm

  2. Might try a scanning ship to see if it shows up on the probe scanner. It doesn’t show up on the overview (as you definitely noticed).

    And, as I said, no way it’s getting targeted, which put the codebreaker/echelon out the window. :/

    Will throw together a Helios and check it out. I’ll get back to you on that.

    March 7, 2011 at 12:47 am

  3. Pingback: Investigation Underway « Hot Lead Space Bomb

  4. masterblaster

    this is awesome! you’re like the Mark Twain of New Eded 🙂

    March 13, 2011 at 12:43 pm

  5. Wow, I’m starting to understand why Eve is so cool 😛

    thanks for your amazing post!

    March 24, 2011 at 9:07 am

  6. Pingback: Amarr Military Brigade | EVE Travel

  7. Pingback: Epicenter | EVE Travel

  8. Pingback: Un peu de tourisme : la EVE Gate – Warrior Poet Society [WPS]

Leave a comment