Sightseeing in the Cluster

Ceremonial Site

Onga1

The Professor banks as it comes out of warp near the site

EDIT: This site no longer appears to be present in Onga. Please see additional notes.

The Onga star glowed in the distance as the Professor came out of warp. I hadn’t meant to spend any time in-system beyond moving to the next gate, but something caught my eye on the scanners. Aura identified the site as simply a “Ceremonial Site”, with little other identifying information. We were only one jump out from Pator, the Minmatar home system, and I was intrigued as to what kind of ceremonial site the Minmatar could have. I knew little of Minmatar culture myself – the whole tribal system frankly confused me – but I quickly manuevered the Professor onto a new vector to check this out.

Onga2

The ring was much larger than I would have initially guessed.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I dropped out of warp, but what I saw was actually a surprisingly simplistic site. We were in orbit around one of the planets in system: with the way Onga was positioned, the planet was only lit by a small sliver. Nearby, a simple metallic ring spun slowly in space. Cautiously, I approached it. I had expected something a little… grander in scale. Some form of representation of the whole of the Matari people. Some form of ceremonial site that captured the anguish and determined spirit of the people. Instead, there was, well, just a ring.

Onga3

On closer examination, I noticed a few nearby beacons.

It wasn’t until after I had examined the ring for a few minutes that I noticed there was, in fact, more to the site. As a capsuleer well familiar with flying through space, I had learned to ignore the many floating beacons in space. They often only signified a warp in point for something much more interesting nearby. This time, however, the beacons themselves had some telling information. The beacons weren’t simply broadcasting their position, they were broadcasting simple phrases. “Bride,” “Groom,” and “Dais” all flashed out into space at the speed of light. I frowned for a few moments. Surely, this couldn’t be-

Onga4

The Dais stood just in front of the ring.

But there it was, plain as day. A wedding site. Facing the ring, the bride’s ship stood to the right, with the groom’s ship to the left.  In front of the center of the ring, the dais of the officiator stood. Overall, the site was simple, yet elegant. I almost wished that I had accidentally warped into the middle of a ceremony, just to see the various spectators, and the happy bride and groom. Of course, I imagined that getting married in two different ships presented some logistical difficulties, but I could see a certain romance in truly getting married among the stars. It was so easy as a capsuleer to lose yourself to your own ship and forget that you are really something that wasn’t just made of metal and plastic, and I could see why some people would want to get married that way.

I looked again at the ring, re-evaluating the ceremonial site from my initial disappointment. Maybe this site DID capture the anguish of the Matari people. Because even after all of the heartbreak, the years and years of slavery, and the oppression, somehow, the family survives. Worlds continue to turn. Babies are born, and people die. And here, in this simple site among the stars, people can affirm their vows to each other to stay true.

I shook myself out of my reverie, and set course out of the system. Behind me, the ring continued to turn.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Ceremonial Site
  • System: Onga
  • Security Rating: 1.0
  • Region: Heimatar
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -2 in security status, or -5 standing with the Minmatar, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional Notes: It doesn’t appear as if this site is present in Onga anymore, possibly removed in the Tyrannis expansion. If anyone knows another location of a Ceremonial Site, please contact me.
6 responses

  1. Nice Read.

    March 23, 2010 at 7:20 pm

  2. Ga'len

    Nicely done mate. I will have to visit this one.

    March 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm

  3. I have spent months and months living literally next door to this and never seen it… nice.

    March 25, 2010 at 1:28 pm

  4. AquilaShadow

    there is a ring like this one in the new caldari prime system. im not sure if it is also a marrage site though.

    April 11, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    • mark726

      Do you know where? I checked this out last night but was unable to find it.

      April 13, 2011 at 8:42 pm

  5. I can’t find any of the original references to it, however I remember reading about an in-game wedding back in 2004-5. I know that there were CCP staff in attendance during the actual event, and that they came dressed in a old-model Ragnarok titan. This is a significant point to remember when researching this occurrence. Chiefly, because Titans were not available to players at this point.

    Best of luck if you choose to try and follow up on this.

    November 11, 2012 at 8:33 pm

Leave a Reply

