Sightseeing in the Cluster

Guristas Scout Outpost

Erenta1

A small pirate outpost in Erenta

The pirate factions in New Eden had always presented a bit of a mystery to me. Despite the fact that all empires denounced the pirate factions, the empires never seemed to do a particularly good job of eradicating them. They gallavanted about most of empire space, without much consequence. Considering CONCORD’s considerable intelligence abilities, and their ability to pounce on any capsuleer wrongdoing, the fact that pirates escaped basically any consequences whatsoever beyond capsuleer retribution had always seemed a bit off to me. I suspected there was more to the story than was generally known.

erenta2

The Professor approaches the surprisingly small outpost

Still, even I was surprised at the guts of the Guristas as I was flying through Erenta one day. There, sitting as plain as the nearby star, stood a small Guristas outpost. In supposedly high security space, no less. They took no pains in attempting to hide it; indeed, the scout post showed up on my overview of the system as soon as I jumped in. I didn’t even have to probe out the thing. So it was with an odd glance at the assembled CONCORD and Caldari Navy ships at the gate that I set a vector for the Scout outpost. I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect in the way of defenses, so I cloaked the Professor just to be on the safe side.

Erenta3

Wreckage littered the area around the outpost

I apparently need not have bothered. I couldn’t see anything in the way of defenses. However, it was clear that some fighting had recently occurred in the area, since it was littered with debris. Near my warp in point, a Raven engine tumbled through space, but other than that the debris was largely unrecognizable. I could only assume that the Caldari Navy had tried to evict the Guristas, but I couldn’t possibly imagine what the Guristas had brought to bear that could have blown up a navy battleship. Especially in high sec space, the pirates usually were sensible enough to only send small feeler forces in. But this had clearly been a major battle, and considering the fact that there were no low security systems within at least 3 jumps, I had to wonder where the ships were coming from to put up this kind of resistance.

Erenta4

The outpost couldn't have held more than a few ships, given how large the Professor was next to it

The resistance was clearly not coming from the base itself. It was a small base,  and it couldn’t have held more than a few ships. I didn’t feel dwarfed in the Professor as I generally did in New Eden, in fact the Professor alone could probably have filled a significant amount of the station’s docking bay space. The station actually vaguely reminded me of a megathron in design, with it’s two prongs out front, guarding the docking bay. But from the back, the station reminded me more of the upcoming Scorpion-class upgrades that I had been hearing so much about. I really wanted to know what was in there, but my hails for docking requests went unanswered.

Erenta5

From the back, it almost looked like the coming Scorpion-class upgrades

Perhaps the most perplexing thing about this outpost was the location. Not just in-system, but THIS system. I stared at my cluster map for a few minutes, trying to figure out what kind of strategic value the Erenta system held. If there were some significance to the system, I certainly couldn’t see it. Of course, these were pirates that we were dealing with. The lowest of the low. Who knew if they even needed a reason. Maybe showing the Caldari the figurative finger was enough. Given recent history with the Caldari, I certainly couldn’t blame them. With that final thought, I vectored the Professor away, and on towards it’s next site.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Guristas Scout Outpost
  • System: Erenta
  • Security Rating: 0.6
  • Region: Lonetrek
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4 in security status, or -5 standing with the Caldari, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional notes: A similar outpost can be seen in Liukikka, also a 0.6 system.
One response

  1. Very enjoyable Thanks!

    March 18, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

