Sightseeing in the Cluster

Traumark Installation

Saminer1

A mysterious city

Editor’s note: This site was heavily revamped in YC123 (2021). This post describes the site before the revamp. If you’d like to see the updated entry, please click here.

It seemed like deja vu.  A golden city floated before me, clearly long abandoned.  Graceful Amarrian structures floated eerily among the clouds of debris from centuries, and perhaps millenia, of exposure to the harshness of space.  If I hadn’t known better, I would have sworn that I was in Shastal again looking at the City of God.  But no, Aura assured me that the City was 17 jumps distant, in another region entirely.  More than a little intrigued, I sent the Professor in to investigate.

Saminer2

The Professor investigates the strange constructs

Aura did me the favor of at least identifying what I was looking at: she called it the Traumark Installation.  I frowned, not having heard of it before.  I quickly set up a query on GalNet, but the results were surprisingly sparse.  The only solid lead I got from my initial search was that Sanshas seemed to use this area as some sort of staging area.  Although that certainly put me on my guard, it gave me very little other information on the origins or history of this mysterious city.

Aura had frustratingly little to say on the subject:

Saminer3

The Traumark Installation, a massive fortress guarding the southern space territories of the vastly rich royal family, represents the proudest moment in the history of the Tash-Murkon family. Yet that proud moment came and went, for the fortress, once thought to be impregnable, fell into the hands of Sansha’s Nation. All efforts to retake the installation have failed, and today it stands as a thorn in the side of the proud, but humbled Tash-Murkons.

Saminer4

Although frustratingly lacking in information, the site had a quiet beauty about it.

Admittedly, that sight had a certain quiet beauty to it.  Whatever else that could be said of the Amarrians, they knew how to build.  From amidst the clouds (I hesitated to call it a nebula) rose graceful towers, gold still shining after all of these years despite the Sansha presence.  Saminer glowed gently down on the entire sight, glinting off of the wide domes and landing pads.  Soon, perhaps too soon, it was time to go.  I was still frustrated by the lack of available information, but I couldn’t let one little mystery stop me when there were so many others waiting for me to even ponder.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Traumark Installation
  • System: Saminer
  • Security Rating: 0.3
  • Region: Tash-Murkon
  • Potential Hazards: Getting to Saminer involves low sec travel.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.  Furthermore, rats can be found at the site.  While visiting, I saw up to cruisers and frigates.

3 responses

  1. I just found out about your blog via the comments on Crazy Kinux’s post about cleaning up the pack. Wow, very nice. I think I’ll have to add yours to ones I watch. We’re on similiar missions. My goal is to explore all of the new planets.

    Good luck in your journey, fly safe.

    – Katia Sae

    February 20, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  2. Pingback: Journey of Katia Sae Memorial | EVE Travel

  3. Pingback: Ruins of Old Traumark | EVE Travel

Leave a comment