Sightseeing in the Cluster

Guristas Recruitment Center

Taisy 1

The Guristas Recruitment Center.

“Hey.”

I looked up from my datapad. I had been sitting at the local station bar, sipping a few ales while finishing up some paperwork. For being the sole owner of a corporation, it was remarkable indeed how much red tape CONCORD made you wade through. In front of me stood a person I would rather charitably call ‘weathered.’ Scars covered almost every visible inch of skin, and tattoos covered the others. His face was sharp and angular, and his eyes had an unsettling coldness to them. In what is perhaps the greatest indictment of CONCORD paperwork, the prospect of chatting to this fellow was still more enticing than continuing the trudge of paperwork. I slowly put the datapad down.

“Can I, uhh, help you?”

Taisy 2

Some of the debris surrounding the station.

“I was actually wondering if I could help you.”

My eyebrow quirked at that. The man in front of me was clearly no capsuleer, and although I still considered myself rather down-to-earth (for a capsuleer, at least) I was surprised at the brazen attitude of this man. Rare indeed did the unenhanced masses feel like they could offer a capsuleer something without prompting. Without waiting for a reply on my part, the man saddled up on the stool next to mine.

“I’ve seen you around here before. Without fail, you have appeared bored. Bored bored bored bored bored.”

I didn’t immediately respond. It was true that as of late I had been feeling rather… blasé about capsuleer life. Despite the wonders of the galaxy around me, I had become rather aware of the fact that they didn’t excite me quite like they used to. I had sometimes toyed with trying another profession, but had never quite gotten past the ‘idle thoughts’ phase of planning. After a few rather awkward moments wondering just why this man has been spying on me, I softly responded.

Taisy 3

A view from the surface

“And your point?”

“My point is, I have an offer for you. Something to spice things up.”

With that, he got up, leaving his own datapad behind. I reached over to give it to him, but noticed that he had left it on with a simple set of coordinates listed. I quickly transfer them to my own pad. I then try to dive back into the drudgery of paperwork, but found myself even less able to concentrate than before. I quickly close out my tabs before heading back to my station suite. Pretending like I didn’t already know what I was going to do, I puttered around for about an hour or so. I tried watching the viewscreen, I tried chatting to a few friends over galnet. Eventually, however, I found myself outfitting Professor Science to be undocked. The coordinates were, somewhat unexpectedly, for Taisy. Taisy’s largest claim to fame was the rather infamous Kyonoke Pit, the site of a deadly disease outbreak. I hoped that I didn’t just agree to become patient zero.

Taisy 4

The main recruitment ship.

I quickly installed myself into Professor Science and undocked. The way to Taisy was fairly quiet; I felt my eyes glazing over a bit as I warped, jumped, and repeated ad nauseum. Perhaps another symptom of the tedium I’ve been feeling lately. Still, I made it to Taisy without problem.

I put in the coordinates, and was relieved to see that I would be nowhere close to Kyonoke Pit. Instead, what flew into view before me was an extensive, but rather run-down, mining colony. The main colony, built into an arc-shaped asteroid, had definitely seen better days. Surrounding the asteroid was a cloud of debris, mostly consisting of old mining equipment and parts of ships that had apparently just fallen off. I still wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but I quickly received a hail from a nearby Gila. My friend from the bar appeared on the comms.

Taisy 5

More debris

With a certain smugness in his tone, happy that I had shown up undoubtedly, he explained that he was a recruiter for the Guristas, and then proceeded to explain to me what the Guristas were, as if I wasn’t aware of one of the most notorious pirate factions in New Eden. He finished with a little speech.

“You’re bored of life. I get that. I’m offering you a choice here, Mark. You can continue your dreary existence, or we could let you loose. Embrace your inner pirate. Cause some destruction for the sake of causing destruction. Let me know.” With that, he closed the comms window.

I have to admit that I was surprised by how tempted by the offer I was. Perhaps becoming a capsuleer was finally getting to me: the thought of causing destruction and wreaking havoc appealed to a part of me. Still, I wasn’t about to join Fatal and the Rabbit in their schemes, whatever they were. Deep down, in my heart of hearts, I would always be a carebear. And I was fine with that. There were other ways to spice up my life without wanton destruction. As I set a course away from this recruitment center, without another word to my contact, I resolved to figure out just what these other ways were.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Guristas Recruitment Center
  • System: Taisy
  • Security Rating: 0.3
  • Region: Lonetrek
  • Potential Hazards: Taisy is located in low security space.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected, and caution is advised.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.

 

5 responses

  1. I would buy your eve travel photobook and have it on my coffee table. With little pieces like this one scattered throughout. I love it. Great photographer. Great writer.

    October 13, 2014 at 3:31 am

  2. Edison Trent

    Only just found this site, have to say it’s a very enjoyable read. I really hope you spread the info about your blog around, as a lot of returning bittervets like myself won’t be able to find it, and speaking from my own experience in nostalgic roleplaying, they’d like to.

    October 20, 2014 at 4:18 am

    • I try to pimp my blog on Twitter and anyway I can when I post but I know I can always do better. Thanks for reading and I’m glad you like it 😀

      October 20, 2014 at 8:00 am

  3. Who is the character Mark? What is the origins of a Capsuleer? This blog brings sensations, thanks, look forward to reading more

    November 9, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    • Hi Floyd, Mark is the character that I fly under in the game. You can read more about the lore surrounding capsuleers in my Eve Online lore guide, which you can find through the links up top. I’m glad you enjoy my blog!

      November 9, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

