Sightseeing in the Cluster

Caor Korduin

Jakri1

Caor Korduin floats behind a lookout post.

Everyone needs a break at times. A way to recharge their batteries, even from jobs that they love. I was no different, but after a week or two off to celebrate end-of-YC-112 festivities, I was ready to get back in the saddle (or pod, as the case may be). As much as I loved vacations, it was time to get back to the stars. Back to writing. Back to New Eden. And so, I docked my pod up in Legacy and resumed my explorations of the Araz constellation. After some quick research through GalNet, I came upon a promising site to check out:

Jakri2Caor Korduin is an old fortress built by House Kador centuries ago, recently remodeled to reflect the more modern Amarrian architecture. Kador’s military presence in Araz is centered around Caor Korduin, with the main bulk of their fleet residing within this mega-structure. It is also frequently used by the official Kador Governor, Lord Manel, as a meeting place with other Lords of Araz. Some past Governors have even gone so far as to use the military installation as their headquarters, due to it’s formidable defenses.

 

Jakri3

A frigate in the Caor Korduin defensive fleet.

Intrigued to see a portion of the Imperial armory, I quickly set course to Jakri to see exactly what Caor Korduin was all about. I was hoping to see a grand display of Imperial might, something to awe me with its glory. Or at least something useful for me to take a wry crack at Amarr, as I am wont to do from time to time. Alas, apparently Amarr military doctrine doesn’t call for ships on active duty to be displayed to the universe to be admired by all, but rather cloistered away in a fortified battlestation to avoid attack. Grudgingly, I had to admit that this made more military sense than what I was expecting. Rather than some grand display of Amarr might, it seemed to be just like any other Amarr station, surrounded by a small picket fleet and some lookout towers. Legacy was denied docking clearance, no doubt the station was filled with members of the Kador navy.

Jakri4

Legacy banks after being denied docking clearance at Caor Korduin.

Beyond that, however, there was little to see. A few naval ships stood on patrol, no doubt backed up by the fleet docked within the station when necessary. Debris from the recent upgrades to the station created a small nebula, suffusing the area with a soft glow. Overall, a less than impressive start back on my returns to exploration after a brief vacation. Still, it was good to be back.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Caor Korduin
  • System: Jakri
  • Security Rating: 0.5
  • Region: Kador
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional Notes: This also serves as an Amarr COSMOS site.

 

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Rewind: 1.9.2011 | The EVE Report

  2. I have to say I kinda like the “old” Amarr design sensibility, would be interesting to see some of the ships active during that time.

    January 10, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    • mark726

      I agree completely. Actually, I’d love to see more of the older designs from all of the empires, to be honest with you.

      January 16, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

