Sightseeing in the Cluster

Civic Court Plaza

CivicCourt1

A very regal meeting place.

Special thanks to Adainy Gwanwyn for getting me pop-up text while my computer is on the fritz.

One of the biggest things that took some getting used to upon moving to Amarr space was the sheer prevalence of slaves. They would show up in the oddest and most unexpected places. I was eating out in my home station last week, in a small cafe that I liked. I had already paid, and was going to leave when I realized that I had forgotten my NeoCom on the table. I quickly walked back into the cafe to retrieve it when I noticed through the doors to the kitchen a fight of some kind. My server, whom I hadn’t given a second thought to until now, seemed to be fighting with the manager of the cafe. While I watched, the manager smacked her, at which point I saw her handing over the tip I had left her. Startled, I quickly grabbed my NeoCom and walked out of the cafe, resolving never to return. Among the graceful beauty that I often admire when living in Amarr space, I had to remind myself of the hidden ugliness often sitting just under the surface.

CivicCourt2

As with all things Amarr, the Plaza combines grace with function.

I was reminded of my experience in the cafe when out and about in Aphi. I had noticed a CONCORD marker for the “Civic Court Plaza” in the system, and immediately set course. I actually was fairly convinced that this would be part of the Theology Council, (and with the Amarr judicial system in apparent disarray such that individual Holders can randomly be granted judicial authority, having a court plaza without a court nearby wouldn’t have surprised me). As I dropped out of warp near the site, I was immediately struck by the elegant simplicity of the area. However, this was quickly ruined when Aura brought up the relevant information on the site:

CivicCourt3Once the site of one of the Civic Court’s infamous Facilities for Humane Rehabilitation, the Civic Court Plaza has since been converted to a glorified slave holding pen, where appropriately-trained stock is kept on hand for the higher-ranking lords and ladies of the constellation to choose from when in need of work force replenishment – or simple entertainment. Additionally, much of the constellation’s luxury goods are ferried out from here, sometimes under the radar – while the debauchery of Amarrian gentry is often whispered of, it is carefully kept from the eyes of all but the most trusted individuals.
CivicCourt4

A red sunset onto the plaza

I attempted to maintain the contents of my stomach while Legacy‘s sensors confirmed Aura’s findings, and I examined the site itself. It was fairly unassuming, at least as far as Amarr structures are concerned. The normal temple to their “God” (though any deity that approves of slavery wouldn’t be much of one in my book) stood as the anchor of the entire site. In apparent mockery of planet-side cathedrals, the site was rather set up like a processional that one might see in a church. Two rows storage silos stood in front of the “altar” of the Amarr religious temple. Surrounding the silos, like altar boys tending the pews, small dispensaries sat, connected to each silo. On the top of the silos ran many landing pads, presumably for the esteemed Amarr gentry to sit in luxury while their “goods” were transferred.

CivicCourt5

For a brief moment, I seriously consider letting Legacy's wrath loose on the site.

I seriously considered attempting to free the slaves and blowing up the plaza. I’m normally not one for violence (an unfortunate moral choice in New Eden), but the system was just so reprehensible as to demand action. But I knew it wouldn’t matter. CONCORD, the defenders of “justice” – or, more appropriately, the status quo – would kill Legacy faster than you could say “warp drive active.” There was no way around it. CONCORD always got its man. And even if I managed to destroy something, the Amarr would swoop down, with their righteous condemnation of anything that threatens their way of life, and simply rebuild it. And so, with reluctance, I left this monument to injustice, thinking of the server girl and the millions stuck in that wretched and degrading life.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Civic Court Plaza
  • System: Aphi
  • Security Rating: 0.5
  • Region: Kador
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional Notes: This also serves as an Amarr COSMOS site.
9 responses

  1. Pingback: Seasons Of Space » Blog Archive » Let’s Play Catch Up

  2. Fergus Meikleour

    Yours is certainly one of the more original eve blogs out there. I actually go and look at the beacon sites now. Thanks for that

    December 6, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    • mark726

      Glad that you enjoy it, and that you’re exploring what’s out there now! If you find anything that I haven’t done yet, please pass it along 😀

      December 6, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  3. I second that, everytime I see a new post pop up I make time to come over and read, anxious to hear what new marvel you’ve uncovered. I’ve not always been the greatest “background” guy, but your posts continue to fill in a very colorful story.

    December 8, 2010 at 6:41 am

    • mark726

      Thanks, I’m so glad people enjoy it! Who’d’ve thought that there’d be a niche for sightseeing in the world of internet spaceships?? And even though I don’t comment often over on EVEOGANDA (the curse of reading it on a mobile app), I’m always thrilled to see whatever new piece of art you’ve drawn up. Keep up the good work!

      December 8, 2010 at 10:44 am

  4. WHOA!!!

    You have snow falling on your blog. How pretty.

    Good post too

    December 8, 2010 at 7:45 am

    • mark726

      Thanks, and happy holidays!

      December 8, 2010 at 10:44 am

  5. Great post mate! I just found your blog, but I will be reading it on a regular basis now. Well done.

    December 11, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  6. Pingback: Let’s Play Catch Up « Hot Lead Space Bomb

Leave a Reply

