Sightseeing in the Cluster

Bonfire

Munory1

An overview of the Bonfire.

Walking out the door. I was literally walking out the door when Eggman sent out the call. And if it had just been the standard jaunt in systems near our home base, I would have just kept walking. But no, it had been for a multi-day journey to the other side of the Empire, and I couldn’t let Eggman down on something like that. He’d given me too much. And so it was with a very heavy heart that I turned my back on a five-day long weekend and walked to my quarters on Legacy instead of the waiting shuttle to take me back home on Sarum Prime. Turned my back on vacation to look at… well, I wasn’t entirely sure what I was looking at currently from my vantage point of the porthole near Legacy‘s aft sensor station. It seemed to be just a jumble of rocks and metal, with a bit of sparkly stuff near the top of it. Eggman was always good about putting info out about the places we were visiting on the internal network. Sure enough, after only a few moments, Aura routed me the appropriate info:

Munory2Centuries ago the Blood Raiders frequented Araz. At that time, the cult was not outlawed in the Empire and they owned and operated several strongholds and stations, here and elsewhere. But soon the Empire could not stomach the cruel depravities of the Blood Raiders and they were expelled.

The Bonfire, and what took place here, is one of the reasons for their expulsion. Here, the Blood Raiders conducted horrifying sacrifices and rituals that appalled all those that witnessed or heard about them. Fortunately, the Blood Raiders have long since gone to hold their unholy rituals elsewhere, but the Bonfire still holds a chilling fascination for all that view it.

Munory3

A close up of the center of the "fire"

I shuddered involuntarily. Eggman’s fascination with this stuff was oddly endearing, but the places he visited most of the time were downright creepy. I took a quick glance around and realized I was alone in my section. So, of course, I non-chalantly turned on Eggman’s audio channel. The guy liked to wax nerdy about the various things we visited (giving his nickname a hilarious pun, not that we ever called him that to his face), and his droning on and on about the Blood Raider history in the Araz constellation provided me with a bit of company while I continued to make sure that the sensors were operating in acceptable parameters. Pod ships were supposed to be the wave of the future, but I’ll be damned if they don’t make Drake-class ships lonely places.

Munory4

One of the ships on station to ensure that the Blood Raiders don't try to reclaim their monument.

With little else to do, I brought up some of the external camera feeds to actually get a look at this Bonfire that Eggman was still talking about. It really just consisted of a number of metal slabs arranged in a circle, with asteroids ringing the outside. A few Amarr ships (I barely knew Eggman’s ship classes, much less all the others out there) floated nearby. If I had to guess, I’d HOPE that they were God-fearing Imperial ships, but this was the outskirts of the Empire and even the Empress herself can’t be everywhere at once. Considering the lack of targeting alarms, though, I think it was safe to say that the system was relatively secure.

Munory5

The Bonfire.

After about 15 minutes, Eggman finally seemed finished with his monologue (how that man can keep talking like that while flying the ship was beyond me), and we secured stations for warp flight. For me, that mostly involved making sure that the sensors still, in fact, existed. Which they were. I reported that the station was secure. As Legacy slid into warp, I said a silent prayer to the Empress that we never meet a Blood Raider in person.

I could have been on vacation right now…

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: The Bonfire
  • System: Munory
  • Security Rating: 0.5
  • Region: Kador
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
One response

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Rewind: 11.14.2010

Leave a Reply

