Sightseeing in the Cluster

Quarantined Blood Raider Sanctuary

Aband1

A quarantined Blood Raider station. No Empire or CONCORD patrols could be found nearby.

I consider myself a fairly civilized and cultured individual. For starters, I’m a proud Gallente citizen, and inherently possess a certain amount of class. Secondly, and I really do think this is the distinguishing feature, I don’t drink blood. This is certainly more than can be said for members of the Blood Raiders Covenant. Beyond the fact that most religions in general tend to instill a good bit of fear in me, the Blood Raiders have managed to push that fear to a good deal of paranoia. Living in their main base of operations, Amarr space, I’ve always kept a wary eye on things, both in my ship and out of my pod. Thankfully, I have yet to see anything that sparkles in the night in my quarters on the station, and I keep my ships well-secure, so I’ve been able to rest easily.

Aband2

A closer view of the rather sizeable Blood Raider station

Also helping was the fact that the Empire and CONCORD seemed to have been able to keep them relatively well-contained. Granted, they seemed to have given up on keeping the spacelanes safe, but at least the planets and stations seemed free of the vermin. So my interest was understandably piqued as I was finding my way around Kador. As I was flying on my way to visit other sites, an automated CONCORD warning flashed on to my overview shortly after I had entered the system. I was being asked to re-direct my flight plan around a known Blood Raider infestation. Indeed, part of the system had been entirely quarantined. Of course, like any good explorer, I immediately set course for the heart of the quarantined area, while digging up a little bit about CONCORD’s motivations from Aura:

Aband3

Whenever they are discovered, Blood Raider compounds are quickly quarantined, and nearby civilian traffic lanes are redirected elsewhere. Although patrols are often established near the vicinity as well, there are few local security forces across the empires willing to risk ships and crew in battle against an enemy as fearsome as the Covenant.

Aband4

A Blood Raider ship takes some shots at Legacy

I came out of warp to find myself essentially face to face with a rather sizeable Blood Raiders station. Having grown quite used to the graceful lines of Amarr architecture, it was rather jarring to see something so… pointy. It’s very shape seemed menacing; as if it was hunched over, ready to pounce on a moment’s notice. A very quick scan of the area suggested that there were large concentrations of an organic liquid throughout the station. I held down my bile as I quickly turned my attention to the surrounding environs. The station sat in the center of a rather expansive debris field, including  both construction debris and the remains of the various ships that have tried to assault the station in the past. A small fleet of ships surrounded the station. I mean that in both the numerical and size sense of the word. A few frigates attempted to break down my shields, but it generally seemed to be a rather half-hearted affair; I didn’t even bother turning on my combat hardeners, seeing as how my shields never dropped below 95% integrity. A strange defense force indeed for such a presumably important station.

Aband5

Another view of the central station

After swatting off the Blood Raider attack, I spent a few minutes considering the site. Given the size of the station, I can understand why CONCORD and the Empire would be hesitant to attack the structure; even if it wasn’t heavily defended now, it wouldn’t take much time to call in reinforcements, and the station would barely be scratched before they arrived. And so, like CONCORD and the Empire before me, I left the quarantined space alone and the station intact. After seeing just what the Covenant was capable of building, however, I would be making extra sure that my quarters in the station were locked off tonight. And probably throwing a blanket over that bottle of sparkling Fusion Thruster that I recently received as a gift, just to be set my mind at ease.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Quarantined Blood Raider Sanctuary
  • System: Aband
  • Security Rating: 0.5
  • Region: Kador
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen. Additionally, 5-6 hostile frigates should be expected at the site.
2 responses

  1. Great pics as always.

    October 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  2. Pingback: T.E.R. Podcast: Pilot

Leave a Reply

