Sightseeing in the Cluster

Clear Water Spring

Clear Water Spring1

Certainly one of the stranger springs that I've seen in my days.

Admittedly, it’s been a while since I’ve been planetside. Even during my breaks off-ship, I tend to hole up in a station rather than shuttling to the nearest inhabited world. Something about wide open spaces when I’m protected by mere fabric makes me… nervous. Paranoid, really. Staying inside the enclosed stations is more for my state of mind than anything else. So it’s been a while since I’ve really felt the earth beneath my feet, or watched a sunset. But that’s not to say that I’ve forgotten what those things are. I know what fields are, and I know what waterfalls are. And I know what springs are. Or at least, so I thought. Then I flew into Friggi.

Clear Water Spring2

The object in the middle of the site. Friggi VII hangs in the distance.

I was understandably intrigued that CONCORD had marked something labeled as “Clear Water Spring.” I quickly made my way over, not entirely sure what to expect. Maybe some kind of comet to supply the local stations with water? Some kind of magical water-spouting device? Interestingly, despite quite a bit of searching on the GalNet, I wasn’t able to discover all that much information on the area. It seemed that, despite a few hints, I would be flying into the unknown here. With that, I angled the Professor towards the site, and the Buzzard slipped into warp.

Clear Water Spring3

The Professor flies among the strangely arranged rubble

What I found there wasn’t what I was expecting. I was, at the very least, expecting something… a little wetter. Instead, what I found were a bunch of monolithic asteroids arranged curiously. They seemed to form a fence around a central, glowing sphere or pod. The Professor’s sensors couldn’t make heads or tails of it. I couldn’t even tell what was causing it to glow. The asteroids surrounding the slowly pulsing sphere were all very tall and thin, but seemingly pretty normal. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if they had all been cleaved from the same larger asteroid. Nothing worth mining, of course.

Clear Water Spring4

The strange central sphere seen through the field of asteroids.

A few ships sat nearby. I tried to engage them in conversation, but they seemed to have some other things on their minds. Kept offering me jobs, regardless of what I asked them. You know, typical Caldari: always looking out for isk over anything else. After trying a few times, I gave up and closed the channels with the two apparent agents. With no prospect of figuring out even why this area was called “Clear Water Spring,” I had to place this site in my “ongoing mysteries” stack. That stack was significantly higher than my “solved mysteries” stack, alas. As I vectored off, I considered calling in a few favors. Maybe some time planetside wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world. At the very least, it would let me see an actual spring…

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Clear Water Spring
  • System: Friggi
  • Security Rating: 0.5
  • Region: The Forge
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Caldari, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional Notes: This additionally serves as a COSMOS site.
4 responses

  1. hmm that’s a mysterious one for sure. very neo-lithic in style, perhaps a left over artifact from some long forgotten race? or, my mind wanders, a powerful being of energy is trapped within the glowing sphere and the builders arranged the asteroids around it in a protective religious shield to keep his spirit from escaping? or not.

    October 4, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    • mark726

      Congrats on making the 100th comment, Rixx! I’ve been waiting for about 2 weeks now for someone to comment next :-p

      This site is an interesting one, but the thing I’m most confused about, honestly, is the name. Why Clear Water Spring?

      October 4, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  2. Pingback: Devil’s Dig Site « EVE Travel

  3. Pingback: Yan Jung Relic Site « EVE Travel

Leave a Reply

