Sightseeing in the Cluster

Red Rock Outpost

Otomainen1

The Professor makes its way through the dense nebular haze

Certain areas of New Eden were better known for their various sights than others. I’m not entirely sure what caused both natural and man-made phenomena to congregate in these seemingly few systems with such a high density, but I wasn’t about to complain about something that made my job a bit simpler. As I was browsing potential places to visit for the day, one of them caught my eye. I quickly undocked from my temporary base of operations and made my way over to the Red Rock Outpost. En route, Aura pulled up some information for me:

Otomainen2Once the jewel of the Otomainen system, Red Rock Outpost once had the greatest concentration of Arkonor ore known to man. Yet it took the ruthlessly efficient Caldari mere 10 years to strip mine it all. Some small nuggets may remain, but far from enough to warrant any kind of corporate-scale mining.

Otomainen3

A small workshop sits amid a tangle of mined out asteroids

I came out of warp and immediately had to check that my camera drones weren’t malfunctioning. Everything was… well, everything was red. I’ve seen small nebulae before in my explorations of New Eden, but never such a pervasive or large one. Rather than just a few small clouds kept together by random gravitational forces, the entire area was suffused with the small red dust particles. Given the apparent size of the nebula, at least from inside the nebula, I was surprised that I couldn’t see it from outside of the nebula. When I had first warped to it from the gate, I couldn’t see even a shimmer of red until I was almost inside of the thing.

Otomainen4

An abandoned and worn out drill floats among the remains of the asteroids.

Beyond the nebula itself, the Professor’s sensors picked up a number of structures. My camera drones had a bit of a hard time peering through the haze of the nebula, but eventually I was able to make out what the sensors were referring to. Most prevalent was the giant station sitting in the middle of the complex, seemingly abandoned. No doubt it was built here in the heyday of the arkonor mining boom, but why the mining corporation never bothered moving it was beyond me. Regardless, I wasn’t able to dock there to stock up on supplies, so I moved on. A few pieces of scattered and abandoned mining equipment littered the area as well, most notably a large drill sitting next to the tangled remains of a mined out asteroid.

Otomainen5

Sunrise in the nebula

A few ships could be found amidst the hollowed out ruins of asteroids, butthey seemed willing to talk about little else than that their parent corporations don’t like me very much. As if I needed them reminding me of that. There was also some kind of workshop nearby, presumably involved in some kind of manufacturing, but I couldn’t tell much more than that.

I flew the Professor around the nebula for a bit, enjoying the stark change from the usual starlit backgrounds. With Otomainen barely piercing the dusty nebular walls, a suffused glow instead seemed to come from the entirety of the nebula. While it was certainly a shock when I first came out of warp, I soon grew accustomed to, and even enjoyed, the change in scenery. Eventually, of course, it was time for me to set off. There were other things to see, and more importantly, more isk to be made.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Red Rock Outpost
  • System: Otomainen
  • Security Rating: 0.5
  • Region: The Forge
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Caldari, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional Notes: This additionally serves as a COSMOS site, and no, their agents tend to not like me much. Also, I should note that while I neglected to specifically look for whether there was any arkonor present (as the site text suggests), given the fact that there didn’t appear to be miners nearby, I highly doubt it.
2 responses

  1. Those screenshots make me want to go see this one for myself. Hmmm, I think my alt is flying near there…

    September 20, 2010 at 9:34 am

    • mark726

      Let me know if you find any arkonor lying around if you go!

      September 21, 2010 at 1:10 am

Leave a Reply

