Sightseeing in the Cluster

Asteroid Mining Post

Imih1

I've never seen such a major active colony so close to a gate.

Align, warp, jump. Align, warp, jump. Align, warp, jump. It was incredibly easy to get into a sort of trance while traveling over long stretches of the Cluster. And so I almost didn’t notice when Professor Science‘s sensors picked up something while traveling through Imih (while Scientia was useful for null sec travel, the Buzzard’s sheer speed made it more practical to take out unless I knew I would be heading into null sec space). Indeed, I had to send Aura the cancel command a few times before I saw that the ship was indeed coming to a stop. With that out of the way, I had to go to look for a moment at what had drawn my attention in the first place. Of course, it was sitting right in front of me.

Imih2

The Buzzard, well, buzzes the asteroid mining colony.

A mere 30 kilometers from the Liparer gate sat a small but obviously thriving asteroid colony. It was rare to see something this close to a gate. For  (what I assumed were) security reasons, most space-based colonies chose to sit a bit deeper in the system, presumably to have at least some warning time if hostile forces invaded. Obviously, though, this colony chose to not to listen to that particular piece of conventional wisdom. And perhaps they were on to something. Not only were CONCORD vessels in site, but so were Amarr Navy vessels. Indeed, in a rare show of strength from an empire navy, a naval battleship was even orbiting the colony.

Imih3

An Amarr naval ship stands guard over the mining outpost

The colony itself was fairly small, at least from the surface. As with most civilian colonies, it was built inside a carved out asteroid. Only a few, small buildings protruded from the surface of the asteroid, but the Professor’s sensors suggested a larger construct beneath the surface. Even so, the twinkling lights of the surface buildings seemed inviting enough that I took the Professor in for a close pass of the colony. A number of structures could be seen on the surface.

Imih4

A look at the surface of the asteroid

While it was nice seeing a colony that I wasn’t sent on a mission to destroy or protect for once, I eventually did have to get going. I was only halfway through my route, and time was money. With a somewhat heavy heart, I once again… aligned, warped, and jumped.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Asteroid Mining Post
  • System: Imih
  • Security Rating: 0.6
  • Region: Kor-Azor
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -4 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
One response

  1. Guess I missed it again. *kicks the hull of his Buzzard*

    My Tengu is up and running, but I need to pick up more subsystems for null sec ventures. How did you fit Scientia?

    August 9, 2010 at 1:22 am

Leave a Reply

