Sightseeing in the Cluster

Eternal Torch

Pator1

Legacy approaches the Minmatar monument

I’m not really surprised by much these days. Wars, atrocities, massive natural disasters, all seem to occur on a daily basis in New Eden, and one has to numb themselves to it if they’re determined to keep any semblance of sanity. Still, even I was taken aback when I found pirates sitting at a memorial site in the Minmatar home system. Even more so when I realized that a CONCORD patrol was mere kilometers away from them, sitting there as if that was normal. But let me start from the beginning.

Pator2

The Eternal Torch flares up

Shortly after the Minmatar declared their independence from the Amarr, they constructed the Torch to act as a symbol for their eternal freedom. As the beacon that broadcasts to anyone who cares to hear it says: “Shortly after the formation of the Minmatar Republic, the government erected this sculpture above their homeworld, Matar. Named “Eternal Torch,” the sculpture represents the everlasting passion and resilient spirit of the Minmatar people.”  Ironically enough, the Torch was apparently soon lost, the fault of a poor beacon battery and lack of maintenance funding. And so, the Torch disappeared into the depths of the Pator system. It was only uncovered recently during CONCORD’s recanvassing of notable sites throughout the Cluster.

Pator3

The entirety of the Torch complex

I had happened to be passing through Pator running some errands when I noticed the re-discovered site. I quickly vectored Legacy, my workhorse Drake, towards the site. As I came out of warp, I was immediately struck by how similar it appeared to many of the mining colonies spread throughout New Eden. I figured that the Republic was simply using the items they had available to them. The Torch itself, being Eternal afterall, had never deactivated, even while lost in the depths of the system, and glowed against the background stars. It appeared to be a simple plasma flame, but it certainly did its job.

Pator4

A pirate vessel orbits near the Torch

What surprised me, however, was the nearby Angel Cartel ships orbiting the torch quite calmly. I could only guess that they had discovered the location of the Torch a while ago, and “forgot” to tell anyone about it. I sighed, and quickly blew them out of the sky with my own array of weaponry. I knew it wouldn’t hold them back for long; they would be back the moment I left. But that wasn’t my problem I suppose.

Pator5

CONCORD orbits the Torch nearby, rather uselessly I might add

Of course, CONCORD ships were also orbiting the area. Why they didn’t go after the Cartel was a total mystery to me, though I had a sneaking suspicion that it was because there wasn’t a pod aboard them. I sighed, and sent them a perfunctory hello to make sure they knew I was on their side before resuming my original course out of Pator. The warp tunnel quickly formed around me and the Torch receded into the distance. I wasn’t sure the next time I would be back this way, but I could only hope that this time around, the Republic (and CONCORD) won’t lose it again.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Eternal Torch
  • System: Pator
  • Security Rating: 1.0
  • Region: Heimatar
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -2 in security status, or -5 standing with the Minmatar, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
One response

  1. I’ve just recently stumbled upon your blog. I just have to say, I really love it so far. It’s simple and elegant and a very interesting read. Makes the EVE Universe seem so fascinating again! Keep up the great work 🙂

    July 27, 2010 at 4:47 am

Leave a Reply

