Sightseeing in the Cluster

Blood Raider Crawler Mine

Mine1

The Professor travels through the mine at high speeds.

Editor’s Note: Sometime prior to September 1, 2015, this landmark has been removed from the game. As per my custom, I will keep the entry live.

The Professor soon came out of warp. I found myself surrounded by a surprising clash of things both new and old. Nearby, an ages old ship sat slowly decaying. A small cloud, presumably made of microscopic bits of the decaying ship, sat nearby. While any equipment or other treasures the old ship may have had were long since salvaged, either by other pod pilots or pirates, the sheer size of the ship suggested that it used to be a mining vessel of some kind. And given the sparse data that Aura was able to glean for me, it made sense. This appeared to be an older asteroid field, long since almost completely mined out. Unlike many of the more populous mining belts throughout New Eden, which seemed to have a near unlimited supply of ore day after day, this one finally seems to have met its end. Just as the ship sitting nearby.

mine2

The nearby blood raider base

Throughout my travels, I have often wondered who exactly ended up causing a particular wreck or landmark. This time around, however, I think I’m pretty much able to piece together the culprits. Granted, the nearby, and clearly labeled, Blood Raider mining base may have helped in my deductions. The base seemed to be of relatively recent construction. It appeared to be composed mostly of the remaining asteroids, or at least the shells of those asteroids. I suspected that the old mining vessel was simply caught in the wrong place at the wrong time as the Blood Raiders made a push into the system. I shuddered and tried my best not to think of the fates of the mining crew.

mine3

An old ship slowly decays among the old asteroid field

Debris and other flotsam floated gently in space, either the remains of the main ship itself or other unfortunate visitors to the area. Remarkably, despite the fact that I was uncloaked, there wasn’t a ship present to react to my presence. Nor did the Professor’s sensors find any recent wrecks. It seems the Blood Raiders left this base undefended these days for reasons unknown. Not that that bothered me at all. If I wanted combat, I would have taken out my Drake for the day. I was perfectly content to let the residents of the mining base warily watch me.

Mine4

Debris tumbles slowly in space, a few kilometers from the rest of the site.

I cast the Professor’s camera drones around the site a few more times, contrasting the age of the decaying miner with the relative youth of the nearby asteroid base. The two seemed to be a nice reminder to never become complacent in New Eden. I wondered if the nearby, undefended asteroid base was entering that age of complacency themselves. When they assumed that, since they’ve been here so long unchallenged, that they were destined to remain here unchallenged. I wondered if that was what ultimately doomed the miner. On that note, and a quick check of my d-scan to make sure I was alone in the system, I set course for my next stargate, intent on getting home.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Blood Raider Crawler Mine
  • System: Saidusairos
  • Security Rating: 0.1
  • Region: The Bleak Lands
  • Potential Hazards: Getting to Saidusairos involves low sec travel.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.
Leave a Reply

