Sightseeing in the Cluster

Crimson Cathedral

Cathedral1

The Professor drops out of warp a few kilometers from the site.

Editor’s Note: Sometime prior to September 1, 2015, this landmark has been removed from the game. As per my custom, I will keep the entry live.

For all of the research that I do to find sites to visit throughout the New Eden cluster, sometimes the sites that you aren’t expecting to find are the most intriguing. As I was passing through on my way back from another visit, I happened to pass through the system of Saidusairos. I immediately noticed not one, but two beacons on my overview of the system. Intrigued, I immediately set course for the Crimson Cathedral. Little information could be found on the GalNet, making me wonder if this was one of the lesser known spots in New Eden.

Cathedral2

Four pillars stood amidst the nebula

I came out of warp above the site. Laid out before me were four pillars, spaced in a square. Completely enshrouding the square was a dark red nebula, obviously from where the site derived its name. I quickly approached the nearest of the four pillars. Aura called them “rust pillars”, which seemed appropriate. Each pillar in reality was two asteroids bound together with structures of some kind, clearly man-made in origin. The lights from these pillars were still on, indicating some kind of power source was still present, but there were no active signatures to be seen. I tried opening communications a few times, with no response.

Cathedral3

Saidusairos itself seen through the haze of the nebula

Who constructed this site? Why was it important? What prompted the building of the pillars? Given the location and name, I couldn’t help but think that the Blood Raiders were once again involved in this site’s creation, but I had no proof to back up my theories. I tried in vain to find some way of identifying the creators of this site, even someone walking past the myriad of viewports on the pillars would have made me happy, but there was simply no response to any of my attempts. I studied the site for a good ten minutes, taking in the creepy aura of the rusty nebula, before finally heading on my way. With one glance back, I set course for the second beacon in the system…

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Crimson Cathedral
  • System: Saidusairos
  • Security Rating: 0.1
  • Region: The Bleak Lands
  • Potential Hazards: Getting to Saidusairos involves low sec travel.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.
7 responses

  1. I love that the universe has such mysteries lying in wait for someone to discover, even if we can never find out everything, it deepens the experience.

    April 25, 2010 at 7:10 am

  2. A great read again 🙂

    April 25, 2010 at 8:16 am

  3. Once again fantastic work. I plan on
    linking here as soon as I figure out the link bar 😀

    April 27, 2010 at 7:28 am

  4. Great find, Prof.

    April 28, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  5. Pingback: Saidusairos-Kurniainen Gate « EVE Travel

  6. I really must go and see some of these sites. Has anyone figured out how many jumps are involved in doing all of EVE travel’s documented sites in one journey?

    May 8, 2010 at 10:23 am

    • mark726

      When my list of potential sites was significantly shorter (around 20 or so) I tried using the route planner IG to calculate it out. Needless to say, I froze the client trying to calculate it. Surprisingly, when I logged back in, a route of about 120 jumps was sitting there waiting for me. But as I said, I’ve added stuff in there now, and that list didn’t include things such as Saidusairos, which I ran across completely accidentally (not even EVE strategic maps lists it!), so who knows how long it would take now.

      May 8, 2010 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

