Sightseeing in the Cluster

Ultra Premier

Elarel1

The Professor moves in to investigate the small nebula

Editor’s note: Due to new information, this entry has been entirely revamped. Please see here.

As filled with death and destruction as New Eden is, it helps to be reminded now and then that not every sight in New Eden wasn’t created in violence. My recent visits had left me more than a little depressed and world-weary, and I figured that a sight or two unrelated to recent events could do me good. As such, I pulled out from Aura a list of astronomically noteworthy sites in New Eden. My eyes were immediately pulled to something called “Ultra Premier.” Aura couldn’t tell me any information beyond the name and the system, so it was with more than a bit of curiosity that I set course for the Elarel system. I quickly made my way over, and set a course for the beacon.

Elarel2

The Elarel star glares down just offscreen

As I dropped out of warp, I was surprised by just how close we were to Elarel herself. Most ships, capsuleer or not, tended to stay farther away from stars, probably dating back to the days when we needed to be more concerned with radiation from them. But even with today’s shielding technology making this point fairly moot, it was rare to find anything much closer to a system’s star than the first planet. As such, the star briefly blinded my camera drones before they adjusted, leaving me uncustomarily blind. Quickly, however, my vision returned, and I found myself looking at a small nebula. Not exactly what the name “Ultra Premier” suggests, and I wondered briefly where the nebula had gained its name from. I couldn’t help but think that it was the name of some new release from Quafe.

Elarel3

Elarel seen through the haze of the nebula

The nebula itself, though quite pretty, was fairly unremarkable from a scientific standpoint. The Professor’s scanners didn’t pick up any noteworthy substances within the nebulas, even the booster producers would be disappointed. Perhaps the most remarkable thing about it was the sheer nearness of Elarel herself. A class G5 star, though certainly not the most massive star out there, was nothing to shake a stick at, and nebula are notoriously fragile things. It was surprising that any nebula could survive for any length time this close to the star, between the solar wind and gravitational pull of the star, but one look outside reminded me that nature often found a way even when “science” would suggest otherwise.

Elarel4

Ultra Premier hangs against the inky backdrop of space.

I spent a few more minutes watching the gas currents flow through the nebula. I enjoyed the undulating motions, it was incredibly peaceful to watch the constantly changing shape of the nebula. I flew the Professor into the nebula, and around it a few times, spending as much time as I wanted here. By the time I was ready to go, I felt rejuvenated. For as much destruction and death as there was in New Eden, there were also places of unparalleled beauty. I aligned the Professor for warp out of the system, eager to see what else was out there.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Ultra Premier
  • System: Elarel
  • Security Rating: 0.4
  • Region: Everyshore
  • Potential Hazards: Getting to Elarel involves low sec travel.  Pirates and gate camps should be expected.  A cov ops or other cloaking ship is recommended.
3 responses

  1. Always enjoy your beautiful pictures mate; also added you to my personal blog’s blogroll!

    April 16, 2010 at 11:19 pm

  2. mark726

    I’ve returned the favor, thanks 🙂

    April 20, 2010 at 12:40 am

  3. Hey I remember running that site when we were doing Ops back in Tzvi! Was good fun.

    April 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Leave a Reply

