Sightseeing in the Cluster

Children of Light

Children of light 1

The Perimeter gate in Iyen-Oursta

The universe just isn’t fair sometimes. If the universe knows anything about me, it’s that I live for the visuals. I am willing, happy even, to travel for hours on end, risking ship and limb, to see something and write about it so others don’t have to. I pride myself on careful research on sites, so I can offer informed explanations, giving both context and meaning to the sights that I see. I work hard for what I do, and it’s all for the sake of that one shining moment, that first time the view clarifies in front of me coming out of warp. That sense of wonder as I see something for the first time. Sometimes, if I’m lucky, I know what to expect. But other times, I’m going into the true unknown, which makes that first sight all the more thrilling. With all of this in mind, you would think some sense of cosmic karma ought to be working in my favor.

But no, of course not. I forgot for a split second that I was in New Eden and that the laws of the universe were tipped very much against me.

The story here begins in Iyen-Oursta. It’s a rather unassuming system on the Gallente-Caldari border, a front often forgotten given that Algogille and Luminaire are already so close to the border, and thus bear the brunt of any defensive and offensive posturing. I’ve flown through it many times, and have even flown over just to enjoy watching the Roden Shipyards in system build up its fleet of Megathrons.

Early on in my career as a capsuleer, I came across reports of something called the “Children of Light.” Reports were few, but fairly straightforward. There had been reports in the past of clouds of light converging on the gate at activation. The scientific consensus seemed to be that the discharge was most likely due to some kind of plasma leak that, in certain conditions, formed a resonance with the jumping ship, briefly charging the surrounding plasma. There were a few more, shall we say, unscientific hypotheses, but I brushed those aside. Eagerly, however, I put Iyen-Oursta near the top of my list of places to visit. Being based in Gallente space at the time, it was practically a hop, skip, and a jump away.

Children of light 2

Blink blink blink

When I got there, I had to admit a certain amount of disappointment.  The gate, while a gorgeous example of Gallente architecture, showed no signs of these so-called children. There’s a small beacon a few kilometers off the gate, blinking in rather dull fashion, that dutifully broadcasts “Children of Light” to anyone in system, but Aura is oddly silent on the subject, offering absolutely none of her usual commentary.  But I brushed off my disappointment: this was far from the first time that a hoped-for view had fallen through (Atioth, I’m looking in your direction), and it certainly wouldn’t be the last.  And besides, I had managed to find the aforementioned Roden Shipyards on the visit, so it wasn’t a complete loss.  I made a mental note that this particular clue was a bust, and carried on my merry way.

I’ve passed through the system countless times since then. As I jump in, my heart momentarily jumps as I see an unexpected beacon on my overview, and then as I read what it is, a twinge of disappointment again sets in. But I’ve learned to brush that aside as one of many things that are simply legends. Ghosts of stories from long ago.

Or so I thought.

I was contacted out of the blue a few days ago by a pilot named Jon Tarant.  I was over in Pure Blind on an unrelated research project, and was in the process of making my way through the never-ending piles of paperwork that always seem to appear whenever coordinating more than one or two people comes in to play.  The unfamiliar name immediately piqued my interest.  Jon initially asks me if I had ever heard of the Children of Light. I chuckled mirthlessly to myself, that twinge of disappointment once again tickling my brain.  I replied that I was.  Then he told me that he thought he had seen it.  And not only that, but that he had a picture. Immediately, my eyebrows raised.  My other projects were immediately forgotten.  Before he had my curiosity, but now he had my attention.

Children of Light 3

Jon Tarant’s raw sensor footage of the Children

I immediately asked if I could see his photo.  He dutifully obliged.  It was not in the best resolution, and was clearly taken on the fly (pun intended).  Having only just recently upgraded my own camera drones, I was able to sympathize.  But the view itself.  The view itself was astounding.  The gate was immersed in a haunting blue glow.  Tendrils of light went every which way, creating a complex lattice of light.  I could see where the name “Iyen Pixies” had come from.  Even from that image, I thought it was absolutely gorgeous.

I hounded any and all details out of Jon, who happily obliged with what he was able to recall.  I grilled him on his ship (Taranis) the date (March 10 YC 115), whether he was with anyone (a few in local).  He said he had asked around the locals to see if anyone else had run into this effect.  They all said no.  He had a friend a few jumps behind him, also on his way through Iyen-Oursta.  Jon asked his friend if he had seen the lights, the friend responded there was nothing on the gate.  He had apparently filed away the information, and only when he happened across EVE Travel did he think to reach out to me regarding this discovery.

I immediately ran over to Iyen-Oursta myself.  Once again, I was presented with empty space beyond the gate itself, a few Gallente customs officials, and that accursed beacon with its steady blink blink blink, almost mocking me.  No lights.  No lattice.  No children of light.

Children of Light 4

Sunset on the gate.

Even now, I write this safely from the station in Iyen-Oursta.  I have no doubt I will spend a bit of time here, trying to see if I can pull off what Jon saw.  I have the means and willpower to test different approach angles, different ships, and other variables to see if I can trigger the Children, now that I know that they can be triggered.  And that’s the key.  Knowing that there was something out there to see.  I had been lulled into a false sense of security, confident in my ability to root out anything that was hidden.  I had grown overconfident.  But this, this changes everything.  Suddenly, the universe was new again.  What else had I missed?  What else had I brushed aside as unseeable?  Sometimes it takes an extra set of eyes to remind you that one person alone can’t see everything out there.

After all, sometimes the universe simply isn’t fair.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Roden Center
  • System: Iyen-Oursta
  • Security Rating: 0.8
  • Region: Sinq Laison
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -3 in security status, or -5 standing with the Gallente, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
  • Additional Notes: Obviously, I haven’t confirmed this myself yet. I suspect that triggering the Children is simply a matter of chance (very very very very low chance). I’ve tried warp-ins from every celestial to no avail. If anyone else has a sighting of the Children, or any other info, please leave a comment here or message me. This is by far one of the more mysterious sights I’ve encountered in the game, and I find it fascinating!
3 responses

  1. It’s such a great picture – Sunset on the gate , sometimes they can really inspire such a great posting.

    March 13, 2014 at 3:43 am

  2. LuckyLuigi

    Ghosts in the shell…

    March 14, 2014 at 10:07 am

  3. For my own archival purposes, another sighting of the Children (and fellow tweetfleeter @phyridean appears to have been the lucky jerk to see it): http://www.reddit.com/r/Eve/comments/2egg3g/children_of_light_beacon_and_nebula_show_up_on/

    August 24, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers