Sightseeing in the Cluster

Serpentis Distribution Outpost

8v-sjj1

Scientia slowly approaches a drug lab under cloak to avoid detection by Serpentis forces

Scientia crept under cloak towards a sizeable base of operations. I can’t help holding my breath, worried as I am about somehow accidentally decloaking or the watchful guards seeing through my cloak. I’ve approached pirate bases before, but never in null sec, and never with this kind of force guarding it. Nearby, pirate forces slowly circle the base, following their assigned patrol routes. I sit in Scientia, simply watching. I was quickly learning, given the amount of resources that the Serpentis have dedicated to this base, that drugs, like spaceships, was serious business.

8v-sjj2

Various manufacturing plants surround the central base of the drug base.

I have never had much reason to dabble in drugs. I understand that some of the more advanced ones can be used to heighten perception and reaction times in combat, but frankly I had never seen a need for it, and some of the horror stories I had heard about dependency and addiction had basically scared me off of them entirely. Still, I knew that there was a substantial black market for such drugs, even if I had never seen it. I knew at least some capsuleers were involved in drug production as well; my research into exploration topics has often led me to discussions on ladar sites and what kinds of drugs the various gases gathered there can produce. But I knew very little about the actual logistics or markets from these drugs.

8v-sjj3

The labs also served as advertisements for their wares.

Given what I saw from this site, however, I could only assume that the profits were substantial. This appeared to be an outlying manufacturing base, yet it was still surprisingly well developed. About three different drug labs sat near the central tower. Surrounding this complex was a ring of manufacturing plants, each of them belching the hazardous by-products of drug production into the depths of space. Around all of this sat a small force of Serpentis ships, including two battleships and two battlecruisers. If I were in empire space, I would have risked decloaking to take a closer look at the base. Given the Serpentis’s opinion of me in recent days, however, I figured I was safer if I just sat in my cloak. I did a bit of research as I sat watching the plant, however, and was able to turn up a little bit of data:

8v-sjj4Distribution of their product is a constant concern for Serpentis Corporation, which draws a great deal of its annual revenue from the sale of illegal boosters and narcotics. Various outposts are dotted across the cluster, connecting the narco-factories deep inside Fountain to consumers of all kinds. Many of these outposts fall directly under Serpentis control and enforcement, being too minor or secretive to earn the protection of the superior Guardian Angels fleets.

I waited a few minutes to see if I could see anyone making a stop for drugs, but the base stayed vacant save for myself and the guard force. The neon lights of the “Narcotics” shone softly in the light of 8V-SJJ. Part of me was aghast that they so openly hawked their products, but I had to remind myself that out here, beyond the Empires and CONCORD, it truly was a different world.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Serpentis Distribution Outpost
  • System: 8V-SJJ
  • Security Rating: 0.0
  • Region: Syndicate
  • Potential Hazards: 8V-SJJ lies in 0.0 pirate controlled space.  Gate camps (including warp interdiction bubbles) can be found often in transitioning from 0.0 to high security space, as well as on other gates.  Caution is advised.
  • Additional Note: Despite what I say in the text, there is, of course, no actual market at this landmark. For your full supply of drugs and narcotics, please visit your local market hub.
One response

  1. Z**

    Or checkout in game channel ‘Narcotics’ to get the real stuff.

    August 17, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers