Sightseeing in the Cluster

Caldari Prime Titan

Titan1

The Leviathan sitting in orbit of Caldari Prime

Editor’s note: The Caldari Prime Titan is no longer in orbit. To see what happened to it, see this entry.

I dropped out of warp into a warzone. Aura calmly relayed warning of drones, missiles, torpedoes, bombs, and countless types of ammo flinging themselves through the vastness of space. I, meanwhile, was desperately trying to get the Professor to respond and get me out of there. Buzzards were known for their sneakiness, not exactly for their tank. I was in the middle of telling the Professor to align and warp when the sight of the behemoth stopped me, and consequently, the Professor, dead in my tracks.

As always, Aura noted my interest in the object and pulled up some information from the local, and therefore Caldari-controlled, GalNet access:

Titan2To the Caldari, the Leviathan that prowls the space over Caldari Prime is the symbol of a national homecoming. With the Caldari Navy protecting the skies above them, it was here where the triumphant armies of Tibus Heth descended onto the planet’s surface to reclaim their ancestral birthplace. But to the Federation, there is no greater symbol of infamy, as millions of their citizens are trapped below, held at gunpoint by Caldari instruments of death in space.

Titan3

The Levianthan herself hovered silently amidst the battle.

After I took a moment to truly appreciate what this was, it occurred to me that I was not, in fact, waking up in a clone bay, despite the fact that I had been sitting in the middle of a warzone for a good two minutes before realizing what was happening. I took this to mean that as long as I didn’t take any action, both sides of the fighting were willing to ignore a lowly Buzzard. Normally, I knew better than to trust combatants to ignore a covops ship, no matter how busy they were, but opportunities to examine fully functional titans did not present themselves to me every day so, with an extra gulp of pod fluid, I steeled myself and began to fly around the Leviathan.

Titan4

The Professor was a mere speck next to the Leviathan

Seeing Steve, a dead Avatar, was one thing, but seeing a fully operational flagship was another matter entirely. Along the sides of the ship, transit pods raced back and forth, delivering the small army that was needed to maintain the ship to their destinations. In fact, “small” probably didn’t begin to describe it, since this ship was larger than some stations: hence why the beast couldn’t dock. For that matter, I still am not entirely sure how the Caldari managed to slip her into Luminaire in the first place. While the invasion itself was spearheaded when CONCORD’s rapid response network went offline, I don’t remember seeing reports that the Empire cyno-jammers were also offline. But clearly, they had to have been for the Leviathan to get in-system in the first place.

I take the Professor in for a close look as ammunition flies around me.

Still, something seemed off about the entire scenario. It took me a few minutes to put my finger on it: despite the titan’s presence, the ship herself wasn’t participating in the battle raging around her. Rather than acting as the anchor of the fighting force defending Caldari interests, she sat there like a mere centerpiece. It seemed like a bit of a waste, especially given the battle around her. And what a battle it was: Federal Defense Union ships were going all out against the local Caldari navy units. A brave Proteus was taking damage from four separate Caldari battleships, while calmly firing off shots of her own. I had rarely seen the new Tech 3 ships in action, but I had to admit that I was impressed on her handling, a surprising combination of both tank and firepower for a ship of her size.

Titan6

Multiple bombs, that could have blown up the Professor many times over, roll harmlessly over the Titan

The Caldari were certainly asserting themselves, though. More ships were called in as some were destroyed, it seemed that the nearby Caldari station was well stocked in Caldari navy vessels. And given the tenacity of the Federal Defense Union pilots fighting the good fight, it seemed clear that the skies of Caldari Prime were not going to be clear any time soon, as one empire fought for their home, while the other fought for their lives.

A bomb hit the titan. Then a torpedo. Despite the destructive damage that could kill the Professor many times over, the Titan shrugged it off, above such petty concerns. It was at that point that a bomb got a little too close to me. I quickly aligned the Professor for warp to safer space. As if such a thing were possible these days, with war raging even at the heart of an Empire.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Caldari Prime Titan
  • System: Luminaire
  • Security Rating: 1.0
  • Region: Essence
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -2 in security status, or -5 standing with the Gallente, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen. Firing on the titan or the Caldari warships, or having poor standings with the Caldari, may also result in you being fired upon by the Caldari Navy.
5 responses

  1. Szilardis

    Well this is pretty cool.

    Quesetions. is this like a never ending NPC fight? Or FW? Will the navy blast me, as I’m a minmatar FW pilot? And how many ships are there on a usual basis?

    March 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

  2. mark726

    As best as I can tell, this site is similar to a plex, where Caldari Navy NPCs will just keep spawning as you blow them up. I’m unfortunately not very sure of the aggression mechanics: when I visited the site, the Caldari ships showed up on my overview as red, but they didn’t fire on me despite me hanging out there for about 10 minutes to get all the shots I needed for this entry. I’m not in FW, and I have decent Caldari standings, though. For that matter, I’m not even sure there’s any standing gain you get with the Federation for blowing up those things, and if anyone has any experience in fighting the forces here, I’d love to hear from you.

    It’s not a full NPC fight, though.. There’s no Gallente NPC ships at the site, at least from the few times I’ve been there. I’m not sure who, exactly, generally fights at these things, but when I was there for this blog, there was only me and the Proteus pilot. I should have checked to see if he was FW or not, but I didn’t think of it at the time :-/.

    It should be noted that regardless of the force you bring, the Titan can NOT get blown up. It’s spawned in game as a station would be: you can fire on it as much as you want, but the thing will never show damage. When the thing was first placed in Luminaire, there were a good 50-60 ships, up to and including BSs, firing on the thing, and absolutely nothing to the ship. So while it plays an excellent RP role, don’t expect the skies of Caldari Prime to be clear any time soon, heh.

    Sorry I can’t answer these questions more specifically, but I hope I cleared things up a bit.

    March 15, 2010 at 12:38 am

  3. Szilardis

    Alright, I might want to check this one out

    March 15, 2010 at 12:16 am

  4. Iniquius

    The caldari ships won’t attack unless you attack them, there are no gallente NPCs, and that Proteus pilot is named PrideOfUSA. Swing by sometime and kill some BSs with P1MP (We’re recruiting BTW). We don’t take kindly to loot thieves though.

    June 2, 2010 at 11:19 pm

  5. Badboy Explorer's

    What damage types dose this site do because i have 95% kin and 92% thermal but after awhile tanking them my tank seens to be going down after 50 mins dunno way any information can give me is good thanks guys

    January 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers