Sightseeing in the Cluster

Jita Memorial

Jita1

The Professor going in for a look

Editor’s Note (12/17/YC 113): Since the publishing of this article, the Memorial has been subject to massive capsuleer damage. This Article relates to the original Memorial, as it stood prior to the summer of YC 113. An updated accounting can be found here.

Let’s see here… thunderbolts are going for… 25 isk per missile?!  That’s a great dea- Wait, no, that’s 250 isk per missile… no thank you.  I “closed” the market screen projected into my brain with a thought to Aura, and sighed.  Yet another person almost scammed in the great marketplace that was Jita.  Thankfully, I had managed to save my hard-earned isk by re-reading exactly what I was agreeing to before I completed it.  Jita will steal your money in a heartbeat if you let your guard down around her.

Jita2

I wasn't quite sure what I was supposed to be remembering with this memorial

So intent was I on the market screen that I had almost missed a small object floating a few dozen kilometers out from the main trading station in system, Jita 4-4 as it was colloquially known, or one of two Caldari Navy Assembly Plants found in the system (the other is a moon out around Moon 5 of Jita IV).  The station docking manager sounded a little peeved that I canceled the docking procedure just as I was coming up in queue, but I had to go check this thing out.  Quickly, I re-vectored the Professor away from the long line of ships waiting to dock at the galaxy’s market.  I had been to Jita countless times in my career as a capsuleer, how had I managed to miss this?

Jita3

The main market hub floats in the background

As my trusty Buzzard sped across the void towards the monument, I had Aura pull up some basic information.  Almost immediately, she spat back: “A Memorial to the winners Ruevo Aram Riddle Competition, Heinky and Shin Ra of Burn Eden.”  Upon further reflection… it turns out I had absolutely no idea what this was referring to. It took some digging to find relevant information, but apparently back in YC 108 it was the talk of the cluster. Ruevo Aram, apparently wealthy even beyond my wildest dreams, died and left most of his vast fortune with the Caldari State. However, he also left a fairly strange clause in his will (answers to the riddles are in parentheses):

At the time of my death, one person will have a chance to make history. In the event of my death, ninety-eight percent of my wealth is to be transferred to the government of the Caldari Sate, they have their orders on what to do with it. The rest will go to the first person who solves these eleven riddles:

1
You might not heed this advice or care
do not go into HED
it’s guaranteed that somebody’s there
to fill your body with lead.
(HED-GP)

2
Twenty-two trustworthy men
in a popular traders den
mysterious number four
opens this magical door.
(Nonni)

3
Coming and laying their tents
causing shouts and creating dents
holding their ground for weeks
reaching their peaks
until the coming of tweaks.
(Mara)
4
Once friends
once learning
now fiends
now burning
forever.
(Crielere)

5
Down in Stain
there lies a system
with one way in
it is most eastern
(32-GI9)

6
Many a travellers dream
as hopeless at it may seem
a friend of mine named Gep
is the closest you’ll ever get.
(LS-JEP)

7
She foiled their plan
and most of them ran
it did not last
this empire of the past.
(HLW-HP)

8
Fast deployment and swift results
they’ll work for whoever pays
a night stalkers honor heavily weighs
on the orders he gets and obey’s.
(5ZXX-K)

9
To do is to be
to do is me
machine I am
scientist I am
or rather, was.
(Isseras)

10
A highly dangerous place
you’ll find the next clue
hidden away
close to the diamond ace.
(Otitoh)

11
A purple Amarr to the south
deep in the empire’s mouth.
above the sea with two ways in
find this system and win.
(Saminer)

Despite the apparent vagueness of the riddles, capsuleers were true to form and discovered the answers to the riddle and explained how they found the answers within 12 hours. It involved delving fairly deep into the history of New Eden to discover where Aram had hidden his answers. I’m not entirely sure what his answers were – apparently when someone discovered the proper site, they were merely given a seemingly random character – but the results of the search are plain as day, and sitting right before me every time I fly to Jita.

The memorial itself was fairly straight forward.  As seems to be the custom in New Eden, the memorial evoked temples of old that you might find planetside.  Sitting atop the memorial, if there was a thing such as “atop” in space, stood a man, arms outstretched away from Jita, almost as if he was giving the marketplace a cold shoulder.

I spent a few more moments considering the memorial before turning my way back to the station.  Regardless of this man’s opinion of the market, there were still some thunderbolts I needed to buy…

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Jita Memorial
  • System: Jita, near Jita 4-4 Caldari Navy Assembly Plant
  • Security Rating: 0.9
  • Region: The Forge
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -3 in security status, or -5 standing with the Caldari, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen. Furthermore, there’s always the possibility of spatial anomalies (OOC: Lag) in Jita due to its high volume of traffic. Because of the high volume of traffic, suicide gankers and station camps (not to mention isk scammers) can be common.
7 responses

  1. You forgot the dangers of disco-battleships and station gankers too…

    February 24, 2010 at 6:52 am

    • mark726

      Point well taken. Corrected!

      February 24, 2010 at 6:55 am

  2. Pingback: CCP offers an Apology – Disgruntled Eve Online players lock down Jita – surrounding systems very crowded too.

  3. usaf2222

    Shame it was destroyed…

    December 14, 2011 at 1:05 am

    • Funny you should mention that… *whistles innocently*

      December 14, 2011 at 1:16 am

  4. Pingback: New Jita Memorial « EVE Travel

  5. Mark

    Keep this going, a fantastic read and really loving the articles. I didn’t know about the Jita Memorial’s meaning until I read this blog!

    June 21, 2013 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers