Sightseeing in the Cluster

Kor-Azor Battle Site

Similar to the Mehkios Graveyards, Kor-Azor saw some fierce fighting during the Elders Incursion at the start of the so-called “Empyrean Age.”  I wasn’t quite sure how historians came up with that one so quickly, but who was I to argue?  Regardless, I made the few jumps from my current base in Ekid over to Kor-Azor to see exactly what the fighting entailed.  As I aligned the Professor to the site, Aura popped up some information gleaned from the local Net in her ever-helpful manner:

WreckageThe Kor-Azor worlds were the site of some of the fiercest fighting during the Minmatar invasion of Amarrian space. Tens of thousands of Minmatar dropships ferrying troops and armor descended onto Amarrian worlds, stations, and colonies, seizing slaves and returning them to the fleets of transports waiting above. Though many of these brave soldiers died during the historic assault, they did so in the name of freedom, forever dispelling the notion that the Amarr Empire is impervious to harm.

It made me wish I had been around to see it, but like most pod pilots, I was stuck in station as CONCORD locked down most of the stations in response to the Elder attack in Yulai (not that I would have wanted to be caught in the cross fire of fleets this size anyway).  So all I had left were the ruins.

Minmatar wreckage

Minmatar wreckage in orbit

I maneuvered the Professor in and out of the wrecks, the same solemnity falling on me as it did in Sarum Prime.  There was something almost peaceful about the area.  Even pod ships steered clear, meaning that even in a dense system like Kor-Azor Prime, a calm descends on the area, with the ship and body remains floating above one of the most prominent planets in the Empire.  As peaceful as it was, though, it certainly wasn’t a location I would want to stay in for any extended length of time… something about it definitely gave me goosebumps even though I was cushioned securely in my pod.

Amarrian wreckage

Amarrian wreckage in orbit

It was shocking to me to see that despite the sheer amount of Minmatar wreckage, the Elder fleet was able to keep going.  This kind of tonnage lost would make any sensible fleet commander wince, but the fact that the fleet made it to Sarum Prime suggested that the original fleet herself must have been monstrous.   At this point in the war, the Amarrians had just been trying to hold the tide.  I wondered briefly about what would have happened if Empress Jamyl hadn’t shown up at Sarum Prime.  As I banked the Professor back to the gate, I banished the idle mind game: such thoughts were for people more scholarly than I, and besides, there was isk to be earned and more sights to see.

Basic Information:

  • Attraction: Kor-Azor Battle Site
  • System: Kor-Azor Prime
  • Security Rating: 0.9
  • Region: Kor-Azor
  • Potential Hazards: If you’re below a -2.5 in security status, or -5 standing with the Amarr, you’ll have to deal with some rather unpleasant policemen.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers